Wondering you guys' opinion on this topic. I recently started to seriously get into song writing and melody seems like the most important aspect of a song. I'm still a complete beginner when it comes to writing songs (only wrote 1 decent song so far) but one thing i noticed is that melody is like the song's unique fingerprint. Thoughts?
Last edited by J23L at Feb 16, 2016,
It's clear you're new to this, because nobody who has any experience writing music thinks this way. Melody, harmony and rhythm are NEVER mutually exclusive. The melody is the thing you hum and remember, sure, but without even knowing it you're humming the rhythm and the harmony. You can't have a melody without rhythm, it's impossible, at some point the note will end, and the next will start, and depending on how this is used will determine the rhythm, and many will argue it's importance over melody (the earliest forms of music were entirely rhythmic). And along with this, you're also at least implying the harmony. Think of Fly Me to The Moon, one of the most memorable melodies, and is so easy to hum along to. The reason why it works so well, is because it targets chord tones, and without thinking about it, when you whistle this tune, you're underlining the chords, which makes it sound so musical with just one voice. In fact I always prefer a song with unique harmony to one with just a unique melody.

Music is not just melody, harmony and rhythm glued together, it's the synergy of these elements, that creates something much greater. No element is more important, because they're all inclusive. You want to write good music? Don't think of these as separate entities, just think of music as a whole, and these elements will naturally come out.
Quote by Fat Lard
post of the year, thank you
Quote by Jimjambanx