A. How much is a fair price?

B. I am a total newb. How labor intensive is this process? Or is it like a plumber, and you have to pay for the skill set of someone to do the job correctly?

I do not need one. Just researching my second hand guitar and "used guitar issues". It doesn't take long to find a video of someone who got taken on ebay and threads with issues that lead to a neck reset. And then prices for neck resets.

Just curious? Not trying to ruffle any luthier feathers here.
Quote by NotMartinWorthy

B. I am a total newb. How labor intensive is this process? Or is it like a plumber, and you have to pay for the skill set of someone to do the job correctly?

I do not need one. Just researching my second hand guitar and "used guitar issues". It doesn't take long to find a video of someone who got taken on ebay and threads with issues that lead to a neck reset. And then prices for neck resets.

Just curious? Not trying to ruffle any luthier feathers here.

where the value of the goods or services received meets or exceeds the expectations of the purchaser. will vary depending upon many things -complexity of the work being one of them, and comparisons in the local area for the same services.

again it depends upon the complexity of the work. for example on a guitar like a modern Taylor, a neck reset is a 1hr job. on say a vintage Guild it could take a few weeks because Guild finished their guitars with the neck on. so after you cut through the finish, steam the neck off, adjust the heel, test fit, etc...and put it all back together you have to do some refinishing and let the lacquer cure for a good while.

fwiw, don't buy too much into "neck reset threads" on the internet. the neck reset is second only to the truss rod as the default tool of choice for fixing everything except scratches in the finish and dirty old strings.