Hey guys just kinda looking for some opinions here in regards to editing drum waves. Now my band is recording an album and I'm engineering it but this is my first time properly tracking drums as opposed to samples or a dual mic setup. Now my question is, when your cleaning up the tracks, do you cut out the ambient noise of the unused drum mics. For example, say if your had 4 bars that was just kick, snare, hi hat, would you edit out the ambient pick up of the tom mics?

I'm sure there's probably people who do that or just leave it all in, but I guess I'm just looking for a general consensus and maybe the pros/cons of doing it or not.

Thanks in advance.
Satan. Grant this man the gift of revenge against his foes at the Food Network.
I think you generally want to leave it in, but you can experiment and do it however you want. It also depends on what/how youre mixing.

If you leave it all in and dont do any sort of processing, i think your drums will sound more open, organic, natural and room-ey. This is probably good for more chill types of music, lighte rock, indie rock, alternative, ect.
You could get specific about what you process- i.e, use gating on your kick drum to make it sound more direct/in your face and clean. Also use hi passes on overheads or other mics to cut out a lot of the other pieces that the mics pick up.

Or you could do it your way, and gate / chop out the drums you dont want- this will make it sound very direct- but my personal opinion is to use a combination of "openess/left alone" and some gating/process on kick/snare and OHs.

Good luck!
Quote by suckmahnuts
Watterboy, I love you.

Quote by davrossss
You are now my favourite person on UG.....You write cool shit.

Quote by wannabestoner69

Alright thanks for the advice guys, I'll do some experimenting both ways and go from there.
Satan. Grant this man the gift of revenge against his foes at the Food Network.