Hi, I'm hoping you guys could help me out here. I have been playing guitar for about 8 years now, and back when I was first starting out and I was taking lessons, I remember there was this one concept my teacher showed me once or twice where you could get a different sound by soloing in the same scale shape but in different keys. So, for instance, normally if the song was in the key of E, you would solo in the blues scale in the key of E. However, as I recall, he showed me that if, instead, you solo in a different key (unfortunately I can't remember which key it would be for this example), it would have a really neat sound to it. I remember when we did this with the blues scale it gave it a sort of "country-ish" sound. Then, we did this same thing but with a minor scale and it sounded like the major scale! I can't for the life of me remember what interval we were using between the key of the chord progression and the key of the solo, but I remember playing around with it at home later and stumbling upon the melodies of The Star Spangled Banner and Ode to Joy using that concept with the minor scale. My teacher called this concept modes but I'm not sure that's right, I've looked into modes and (as far as I can tell) they aren't anywhere near that simple.

In case that was insanely confusing to you, I'll put it another way. About a year or two ago, I was jamming with some friends when one of them mentioned that in learning different songs, he had noticed a pattern when it came to the solos: whatever key the chord progression was in, the solo was almost always a certain number of frets down (or was it up?) from that. I want to say it was five frets, but I'm not sure and I can't seem to reproduce on my guitar what I remember hearing when he gave us an example. If it helps, another friend who was there that day and who happens to be a music teacher mentioned that it had something to do with the circle of fifths (I can't remember the exact words she used though).