I have no experience with guitar shop paint jobs. The only experience I have with paint jobs is doing them myself on cars, and having paint repairs done by body shops. In both cases with cars, the paint jobs needed wet sanding and buffing to get to a mirror finish.

I'm assuming that Fender, Gibson and other manufacturers don't spend time sanding and buffing, and that their guitars come off the line with mirror finishes. Do guitar shops likewise do mirror finishes, or do theirs require work afterwards?

Thanks for any replies.
Quote by Monkeyleg
I have no experience with guitar shop paint jobs. The only experience I have with paint jobs is doing them myself on cars, and having paint repairs done by body shops. In both cases with cars, the paint jobs needed wet sanding and buffing to get to a mirror finish.

I'm assuming that Fender, Gibson and other manufacturers don't spend time sanding and buffing, and that their guitars come off the line with mirror finishes. Do guitar shops likewise do mirror finishes, or do theirs require work afterwards?

Thanks for any replies.

They do spend time sanding and buffing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVU86GGV07A

Painting and finishing starts around 18 minutes.
you wet sand and buff just like with a car.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Of course, one upshot of this is that with a lot of guitars, you can do a lot of cosmetic work(whether repairing scratches or a full refin) using supplies from your local body shop.

As long as you can make a well-ventilated, dust-free space to work in, anyway.
Quote by Tony Done