This is my first post on this website so hello! I'm very interested in upgrading my stock humbuckers in my ibanez grg7221 7 string guitar. I've never played on anything without stock pickups so I don't really know what they sound like. The amp I use is a Line 6 spider IV 15 watt. Right now the guitar sounds alright but it's really muddy, I don't use any pedals I just use the models on the amp such as metal and insane. The guitar just sounds really ugly and not clear, I'm no expert but to me it does. Should I upgrade my humbuckers to a set of Seymour Duncan's? These are the ones I'm interested in.
http://www.seymourduncan.com/pickup/nazgul-sentient-set-7-strg-passive-mount

I want to play metal, A tuning. But my guitar just sounds trashy. Plz help me out bros.
Thanks -brad
I would put the money into a new amp.

I have the exact same guitar and I agree, the pickups aren't very good but to be honest any guitar through a Line 6 Spider will sound like shit.

I have a Peavey Vypyr, one of the better modelling amps, and I still haven't changed the pickups due to the fact I was saving for a 6505 MH but then I blew the money on a new Ibanez Iron Label 7 String RGD since I have the self control of a 5 year old, just waiting for that guitar to come in.

Edit: Those were the pickups I was going to put in my GRG aswell lol, please don't tell me you have the limited run white one I have and totally blow my mind
My Gear:
Ibanez Jet King 2
Ibanez RGDIX7 MPB
Ibanez GRG 7221
OLP John Petrucci
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro
Squier Stratocaster (modified)
Harley Benton CLD-41S (Acoustic)

Peavey Vypyr 30.

Boss CH-1 Super Chorus
Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
Boss FRV-1 '63 Fender Reverb
Last edited by N1ghtmar3C1n3ma at Mar 1, 2016,
Don't bother with pickups until you get a better amp. Pickups are more for fine tuning your sound after you've found an amp that you like.
ESP E-II Horizon FR
Gibson Flying V HET SET
ESP Eclipse II FM JB/Jazz
ESP M-II Deluxe EMG 81/SA