I don't know if this is the right place for this question but I kinda considered it "recording".

I've been playing in a metalband for a few years now. We've done a lot of gigs (once or twice a month for the last couple of years) but we are getting some mixed reviews.
Although a lot of people like the energy we bring, we are getting a lot of comments which generally point to the same issue over and over: The sound is just a massive wall. With the distortion,fast playing and downtuned guitars people can't really hear what we are playing.

I've tried everything I can think of to solve this issue: Getting a transparent amp (EVH III), getting transparent pickups (Bare Knuckle Aftermaths), Boosting my signal with a Maxon OD808, rolling of the gain, rolling of the bass, putting more mids in there, using drum triggers for the kick, playing as clean as possible (which got my standards pretty much in the direction of "sylosis tight") but we are still getting pretty much the same result.

I know this is a problem these days with metal bands that sound like a huge wall of distortion coming at you but I feel like I've tried everything I can think off to get more clarity. Is there anyone who also has this problem or knows a solution to its? Any tips are welcome!
I have some very limited experience in live mixing (some school shows and a couple of others), and the #1 problem I've had with messy live sound comes from the drums. If your drummer is banging as hard as he can without any regard for dynamics it can get pretty difficult to mix, since drums don't have a volume knob.

I would've recommended the bass/gain roll off and a mid boost, but you seem to have tried that already. I'd still keep the tone that way in the future.

Do you use huge tube amps, and do you dime them all the time? You could try running the amps with lower volume, but micing them up so that the audio guys have some room to mix the instruments.