So, I went through the technique sticky, but I'm still confused about things (not the poster's fault, he covered an incredibly wide array of techniques). I started with basics of the basics, right. And that would probably be how to even hold a pick. Asked around and went though 50 different youtube teachers, saw 25 different positions on holding a pick. :p Some of them say "hold it whatever you feel like holding it, whatever's the best for you". Nothing feels overly natural or unnatural to me, so how did you guys personally choose this? I started practicing with one of the randomly chosen holds that seemed natural, so I'll see how it goes.

Another problem I have is hand positioning. Most of those guys say to put your hand on the bridge. However, the guitar I borrowed has a very sensitive floyd bridge, and if I put my hand there I bend it and mess up with the tune.

One final question for now is, how do you decide when to alternate pick and when to do the uh, "directional picking", as in change the direction of downstrokes and upstrokes depending on the next string's position. I see people playing arpeggio-like stuff in both styles, and most of them say it's a simple preference. For now I started doing the directional picking thing, it feels very unnatural to play, but at the same time it seems very logical to me.

Thanks for reading
I personally am not too picky about how to hold a pick, as long as you a) stay relaxed b) pick with the tip of the pick. I keep the pick between the tip of my index and the tip of my thumb, it's a relaxed and flexible grip. But it's really up to the individual.

If you have a floyd, keep your near it. Just try to train yourself to hover your picking hand near the "root" of the strings at the bridge. Do you know how to palm mute? I think that keeping your hand at the same spot you do when palm muting without touching the strings is a good start.