I've been playing guitar for a few years and I've heavily relied on playing just by ear. I can learn most songs by ear and have used that to compose a lot of original music from ideas i get in my head. While I'm proud of some of the things I can do I really want to step up my skills and learn more scales, chords, and theory.

One of my concerns is that I always play In DGCFAD because I really love the access to the deeper sounds and the tuning suites my voice a lot better. My question is am I gonna have any difficulty learning guitar not playing in Standard?
Last edited by zts24 at Mar 3, 2016,
Quote by zts24
I've been playing guitar for a few years and I've heavily relied on playing just by ear. I can learn most songs by ear and have used that to compose a lot of original music from ideas i get in my head. While I'm proud of some of the things I can do I really want to step up my skills and learn more scales, chords, and theory.

One of my concerns is that I always play In DGCFAD because I really love the access to the deeper sounds and the tuning suites my voice a lot better. My question is am I gonna have any difficulty learning guitar not playing in Standard?

I've learned electric guitar primarily (as in 95% of the time) in Drop C (CGCFAD),
I wouldn't call it difficult, but it certainly is annoying when you want to play a song in standard, cause then you have to buy a capo, clip it on the 2nd fret, and lose 2 frets out of however many frets you have on your guitar.

The only other down side is that the strings are a lot thicker (which probably means more effort needed to fast pick the string; though I haven't really noticed since I've been playing in Drop C (with D'Addario 11s) for over a year now, I've gotten used to it). Which is not very noticeable, until you've played on thicker strings for a while, then pick up a guitar in standard (using 9s), and wonder "wow, these feel like rubber bands".