I know that I'm not the greatest singer in the world but I'm able to hold a note and keep in key. The problem I find is that years of singing other people's songs has meant that I tend to emulate the original singer and it becomes more karaoke. I do a brilliant Dave Mustaine!

This was never an issue as really I was a guitarist who occasionally did backing vocals. I have, however, always wrote songs and I now have enough material to record an album. These songs are very personal to me and I feel they work best acoustically, ie. just me and a guitar.

The problem I'm finding is I don't really know what my natural singing voice is and I end up either doing rock clichés or impressions when I want a more folky/singer songwriter vibe. I also am not really sure what my natural range is. I can hit higher notes in a Jack Black style but it is very forced and unnatural.

My key of choice is generally Ab minor (capo on 4th) which really fits my voice (or at least the one I tend to use) but I want to break out of that as it means my songs all start to sound the same.

Any advice on the things I've mentioned (or in general) would be much appreciated
GUITAR COMPANIES - Contact me if you'd like to sponsor my signature!
As for your range - If when you sing very high notes you feel easy and can imitate an Opera singer, that's called "falsetto" and that's not your natural range. If you feel like you're speaking, you're still in your natural range.
As for the natural voice - try just to speak the lyrics and slowly add the melody, and if you can, make the two phases sound as similar (tonally) as possible.
Spend a few sessions with a vocal coach who has cred. A second set of trained ears guiding you through vocal passages is hard to beat.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan