and my abilities as a player... as brutal & harsh as it was -> he's absolutely right.

So my question is what are your opinions on effects and the implementation of them?

Is it wrong for a song to be dependent on certain effects or is it just another added dimension?

Because I feel like I should earn my keep as player by messing around with acoustic for awhile and if I do play electric it should be with minimal effects.
I'm no pro electric-guitarist, but the only effects/pedals I use is a distortion (I like the crunchy sound), a chorus (I dunno why I choose it, it just sounds cool when blended with the distortion), and a delay (sometimes) pedal.

I wouldn't say it's wrong to add effects to your playing. Just when there's so much effects that it covers up your playing, then I'd probably say is too much.

The majority of my practicing, I play with my electric guitar unplugged. (I sometimes try to get a few couple minutes of practice into my day. And sometimes I'm busy, so I don't have the time to unpack all those cables, get my amp, then connect my guitar and amp to my iRig, and my iRig to my computer.
Depends on the type of sound you want. If you're using effects to achieve a certain sound, I don't see what's wrong with it. And there's also the issue of taste involved. Some people like as raw a sound as possible from a guitar while others prefer a more experimental take on it.

Personally, in terms of actual guitar tone, I do like a simple set up but I enjoy good and interesting use of effects that affect more the sound than tone. Noveller and RATM are both dependant on effects to get their sound while bands like Free and SRV have pretty simple set ups. In the end it's all preference. I like both.
Last edited by Arron_Zacx at Mar 8, 2016,