Hello all,

Please bare with my extremely newbish questions but i have no knowledge yet about electric guitar stuff.

I recently bought an Epiphone Les Paul Special II jump start kit which comes with a small amp (Electar 10).

First problem i am having is that, when i inject my headphone, the guitar doesn't become silent, meaning that others can still hear my strums. Should this be something of a problem or is it normal and expected?

Second question is that i am unable to reach a tone which sounds something like this: https://youtu.be/ToMfs7H3EPc?t=56. It rather sounds like: https://youtu.be/vGpoPLpqc-w?t=144

What do i have to do here? do i get a new amp or new strings?

Please advise.
Pushing the phones plug in the socket should stop the sound coming out of speaker (but OBVIOUSLY you can still here the guitar!). If it doesn't the phones socket is probably wired incorrectly.

I don't know what you mean about the sounds, both sound OK to me, the first one is probably using an fx pedal as well as an amp.
the first one sounds like it might be a better amp (or just a better recording), but other than that I'm with PSimonR, they both sound fine to me. Are you on the bridge pickup? The first bit of the second video is the neck pickup, then he switches to the neck. also do you have your guitar's volume and tone knobs up full?
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3