Well, experiment isn't exactly what this was. But I was a totally amateur guitar player (fingerstyle and/or classical) who could stumble through some moderately complicated stuff, but could only play relatively simple stuff cleanly.

Long story but I quite playing (completely) in the early 1980's (DOB 1949) and finally picked up a guitar again about a week or so ago. For context when I was last playing I was mostly playing my classical guitar (popular stuff of my own arrangement or purchased arrangements) but would occasionally pick up my mint condition ES-175D. I knew enough music theory to build and label chords (chord labels seem to be 'flexible' ), knew of but didn't really know the scale modes, could improvise a pretty decent bass line off only a chord progression (I did play an upright electric bass in a local jazz band), but could not improvise much of anything other than maybe a standard I/IV/V blues thing), etc.

So where are you 35'ish years of not playing and a week of playing later ??

1) I recalled many of the more basic chord structures (open and moveable)

2) The more 'complex' chords were simply 'gone'

3) While I was last playing a classical guitar with a good bit more string spacing than my ES-175D that I am now playing, I simply do NOT recall a simple 'open C major' requiring great care to avoid unwanted string damping and/or poor fretting leading to string buzz.

4) Barre chords are now (mostly) very hard to do.

5) I used to be able to play a fairly simple, but pleasing, arrangement of Mr. Bojangles. The four bar intro "was still there". The rest of it is gone and isn't coming back on relearning. I am literally starting all over. More complicated stuff is 'gone from the beginning'.

6) I used to 'kind of know' the fretboard. I could certainly identify all the notes but might sometimes take moment to think about it. Other than strings 1 and 6, ALL of that is gone past the 6th fret.