Hi guys and gals. Just after a bit of direction. I have been playing guitar on and off for the last 15 years. Just lately I have this desire to get back into it full time, and learn everything I can. I have taught myself over the years from tab and a bit by ear, and as a result am lacking a lot of the fundamental skills and also don't have a great grip on the theory side. Going to a teacher is not an option where I live and I honestly cant afford it. Can anyone suggest any book series or internet sites that I cant start at the basics and work my way through to be an advanced player that can not only just play but also understand what I am playing. My long term goal would actually to be able to pass this information onto others through lessons. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
I would suggest a number of things.

A good video is Howard Goodall's series titled How Music Works.

Learn about scale construction, chord construction and harmonizing scales.

Read The Songwriting Secrets of the Beatles by Dominic Pedler. Digest it slowly. Any theory ideas that you don't understand then google them or come and ask here.

There are a lot of sites and there are errors all over the place even though the rest of the info on the site might be fantastic. To avoid this then make sure you cast a wide net. Cross reference your sources. Read about something in once place, and then another, discuss it with friends, look for those ideas in songs and most importantly play it on your instrument.

Also take ear training seriously.
Si
Quote by 20Tigers
Learn about scale construction, chord construction and harmonizing scales.

I think TS should also learn about intervals and how all of that is pretty much based on intervals.

Quote by 20Tigers
Also take ear training seriously.