Hello!

I'm 18 and I've just decided to go ahead and try to learn the instrument otherwise known as a steel-stringed acoustic guitar so I've gone ahead and purchased a cheap £30 one from a pawn shop yesterday.

Now, I've read about string thickness and action and everything there is but I just want to know if this is normal -> by the time I've managed to play an Em chord, my fingers were on fire and really sore since I have to press down really hard on the strings.

I have no problem with the technique (I know how to properly position my fingers), but it's the amount of force I put down onto the strings that makes me wonder if they are too thick or the action too high (something that I can't tell by myself since I'm just a beginner). I suppose that is reasonably possible with a second-hand guitar?

I really like strumming the thing so my question is - is it normal for it to be this difficult at the very start (to the point where I can only play a chord for 10 minutes at most before my fingers go on fire)? My fingertips are hurting as I type this even

Thank you!!
Last edited by oraca at Mar 24, 2016,
In the beggining your fretting fingertips are gonna hurt. You have to let them build up caluses, and for that price an acoustic is probably not going to be very easy to play. Are the strings old, if so try replacing them Maybe get a tech to take a look at it.

If you are serious about learning your best bet will be to save some money and invest in a decent guitar, not sure what the availability is where you live but you can get a better quality guitar for less if you buy used!
"A well-wound coil is a well-wound coil regardless if it's wound with professional equipment, or if somebody's great-grandmother winds it to an old French recipe with Napoleon's modified coffee grinder and chops off the wire after a mile with an antique guillotine!"
- Bill Lawrence

Come and be with me
Live my twisted dream
Pro devoted pledge
Time for primal concrete sledge