Hi, I'm new in the home recording so I honestly know almost nothing. I want to just record my guitar and that it will sound good.
My rig is EBMM Majesty
Audio interface: Mackie onyx blackjack
DAW: tracktion 5
Guitar sounds VST: guitar rig 5
I can try and go with another software besides guiar rig 5 if you know a better software. Or if you can give me a presents for it.
I also want to have a great sound for bass. I use Midi files from guitar pro 6 (where I write my music) of the bass section and put it in tracktion, but I can't find good simulator for bass.
Wish you can help me out!
if you aren't overly familiar i'm talking about plugging your guitar into an interface running into a digital audio workstation software on your computer. you use a virtul studio technology. they are pieces of mini software used within digital audio workstation software that process audio signals, plugin to process the signal and provide amp simulation, and effects.
OK but how I can get better sound? Especially in distortion. I play a lot of progressive metal like dream theater and fusion rock like ghutrie
Learn to work with the software.
(and roll back the gain)

Guitarrig is disliked by a group of people, but it is around for a reason, and heard some awesome tones created with it.

Some other plugins you could try are: Amplitube 3/4 (i love those) and positive grid bias (everybody seems to love that one) and the lepou amp sims (those are free)

But if you don't have some experience with the software it could be hard to get a good (recording) tone.

For bass i would look at the native instruments stuff, heard some good stuff about those instruments. But it will still sound nothing like a real bass guitar.
Quote by jaspervdv
Guitarrig is disliked by a group of people, but it is around for a reason, and heard some awesome tones created with it.