I will preface this by saying that I am a huge Metallica fan. Once I heard "...And Justice For All," I became hooked. And since then, I've learned nearly all of their songs on guitar & drums, and I continue to crank their music nearly every day even after 7 years.

With that said, I have come to highly enjoy both Load & ReLoad. They have been in my CD rotation very frequently for the last 2 years.

Why did it take so long for me to realize that these albums are actually good? To be honest, I had never really given either of the albums a chance. But once I did, I came to be familiar with even more great songs, such as "Bleeding Me," "Thorn Within," "Carpe Diem Baby," Prince Charming," and even more.

Granted there are some stinkers ("Mama Said," "Fixxxer," "Poor Twisted Me") but for the most part, these albums are solid.

And when I started learning some of these songs, I thought they would be very simple and take me no time at all to learn; however, these songs have much more intricate guitar work (not so much drum work) than I realized, and it gave me a new view on these albums. The arrangements still scream Metallica, but it is definitely not thrash. But, in my opinion, that is a good thing.

I could talk for days, but I want to hear others' opinions, as well as arguments both for and against the albums.

DISCUSS!!!
Metallica was probably the first metal band I got into, like 15 years ago or more. These days I am not the biggest fan and don't really listen to them, old stuff or new. Load and Reload are mainly filler with a few catchy tunes thrown in, and overall I think it's more hard rock than it is metal. But either way I don't really like either album and neither would be what I reach for when I decide to listen to Metallica. However intricate/complex they are isn't something that factors into my opinion.