Im eager to start playing again but ran into a ball breaking issue. Maybe one of you with more experience can help me figure out this situation. Let me paint the picture with some background information. I have a barely touched starter jazmin accoutic guitar bought 2 years ago that recently grabed my heart thus i started playing like a mad man possessed every day for last 2 months. Initalally i had some buzz on my high e string so i adjusted the trust which killed the buzz (thank sweet jesus) but raised it really high. Nonetheless, stumbled on to drop d songs and have been tuning between there and standard.

Now suddenly one night, totally amped to touch it, I'm tunning up to drop d on and my e string snaps. Logic tells maybe i tunned it to fast, it's been sitting in the attic for two years so i chaulk it up to old brittle strings. So i buy a pair of elixers and then when i try to tune it into d again after letting the strings warm up i pop the e again at the same point by the machine head infront of where the slots meet the wire but then the new g pops too. Sam ash gave a new set of strings but suggested i bring the guitar in. Is that really nessesary?

Could tuning between drop d and standard have altered my neck? Is the high trust rod the insidious culprit? Any idea what could be the potential issue and how to fix it. Thanks in advance for any help.
First things first. Do you mean it snapped between the nut and machine head? My cheap stagg gets changed between drop d and standard and even some open tuning at least 2-3 times a day almost every day. It will fatigue the sting over time but my last set was on for 6-8 months and I only replaced them because I wanted to try out some different strings.