Hi guys, sorry if this has been covers had a quick nosey but couldn't find exactly what one looking for.
So I'm a self taught player. Probably have a ton of bad habits and poor technique but I get by. Prefer playing with my fingers and not picks in all scenarios. Can use picks but choose not to. But anyways I started out by learning chord based songs. Then progressed onto finger picked stuff that's based around chords. I'm ashamed to admit I don't know any scales and this is my problem. I've had a look online for tutorials etc and it just boggles my mind with all the different scales out there. So I'm wondering where I should start? Which scales do I definitely absolutely 100% need to learn. Which can I live without for now. I'm just after the basics for now and if anyone has any good online resources that would be awesome.
Thanks guys
You need to know the major scale at least. If you're using minor chord progressions, then at least learn natural minor (Aeolian), and later, harmonic minor. Depends on what sort of minor stuff you're using.

Maybe justinguitar has stuff on this? He's a good teacher.
Major and Major pentatonic to begin with all the way up the board.If you move those up three frets then you're playing minor(Aeolian) in the same key.Same with the pentatonic which is just a five note version of the whole seven note scale.Major scale is the basis for everything else.
Quote by Thom1989
Hi guys, sorry if this has been covers had a quick nosey but couldn't find exactly what one looking for.