Hello people, this post is sort of a rant+questions at the end so it may get long and I apologise for that.

So my story is this. I am not a total beginner to the instrument, but pretty darn close.
I have had a man to man classical guitar lesson in the past when I was 16, for a month or so before I lost interest and quit. I learned how to tune the guitar using harmonics, and one full song, that which I can still play to this day (which was really surprising...muscle memory wonders xD). I didn't even like listening to music anyways and had no sense of what I wanted to do, or goals of any kind when I was learning the instrument. I guess the only reason why I took it up in the first place, was that my highschool crush thought boys who played guitars were cool and I wanted to impress her (which did not happen ahaha).
Years went by after that, and music was behind me. I had other things to do, and not being able to play an instrument never killed anyone so that was that.

This year, I turned 30. I still had no interest in anything musical, never bought a headphone in my life thus far and just living a still life. One thing I realised over the years however was this strange thing..I would have moments where a melodic phrase would randomly pop up (flow?) in my head. I would never have the same phrase flow twice, and each time something similar to the previous or a completely new melody would randomly be thought of without consciously trying to do so. I am sure many of you get this also, and I figured this was a signal that my brain wanted to do something musical.