Searched but didn't see any threads for this, though saw a few on Google but, never really a good answer.

Picking up a Les Paul archtop styled body this weekend, just a kit guitar someone tried to turn into a bass guitar, so, a few bridge holes to fill and a few to re-drill. Upside, dirt cheap body.

Anyways, takes a bolt on neck... which I am fine with, but looking at options.

Idea was... bolt on a neck, get the guitar setup and working (pre-painting) and once it's all set up, glue in the neck (hide glue? epoxy?) and bolt the neck on. Once dry and tested with strings again and I am happy with how it is, take the bolts out, drill press through the holes into the neck as far as the screws went, then glue dowels the same size as the holes and push them in all the way.

Theory is, with the glue and dowels, it should be pretty strong.

Again, just playing with ideas as I plan out the build. I haven nothing against bolt-ons, and I am not a musician at all, so I'll never notice any differences in tone, sustain, etc... just being a "Les Paul" styled guitar, I kinda like the idea of no bolts/backplates.

Any thoughts?
OK, here's a pic of a Gibby LP studio body and neck before gluing:

For contrast, here's a cheapy kit:

For gluing, you get strength from a combination of the glue and the surface area of the join. As you can see, the kit neck pocket is shallower, and doesn't extend equally far up the cutaway, so you'd be losing surface there.

It might be a better idea to - very carefully - shorten the bolts and countersink the heads to get rid of the backplate.
Quote by Diemon Dave
Don't go ninjerin nobody don't need ninjerin'
Ya, I noticed the neck difference while pricing them online... hopefully easy to find one that fits. Won't know until I get it home and start measuring.

I was thinking although shallower, it's a wider surface for the bolt on. Make sure any finish is sanded off of course. With the dowels glued in snug, they'd hold just about as well as screws, no?