I picked up a used Mesa single rectifier solo 50 head today that I just finished paying the layaway for and when I plugged everything in, it wouldnt really get any volume. Then the amp started to run really hot, you could even smell it. When a fuse flickered, I just unplugged it. Could it be a fuse? Im new to high end amps.
Hopefully it's just some bad power tubes.

If you just purchased it I'd take it back and see what the shop says. I wouldn't do anything to it that the shop could blame that I broke it.

What speaker cab did you hook it up to and did you use a speaker cable or instrument cable?
Guitars:
Jackson Kelly KE3 - MIJ (Distortion/Jazz)
Jackson DKMGT Dinky (EMG 81/85)
ESP E-II Eclipse Custom (JB/'59)
ESP LTD EC-1001FR (EMG 81/60)
Fender MIM Strat

Amps:
Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster 212
Laney IronHeart IRT-Studio
Peavey Vypyr 30
Peavey ReValver Amp Sims
TOOOO many T.C. Electronic Pedals. . .
I didnt even hook it up to a cab yet. I dont think the power cable is the original. I was using a fender california series cable to plug into my guitar. I tried using a different outlet. It turned on for a sec and now it just wont.
Quote by ModestSlaughter
I didnt even hook it up to a cab yet. I dont think the power cable is the original. I was using a fender california series cable to plug into my guitar. I tried using a different outlet. It turned on for a sec and now it just wont.

That's why it wasn't making a sound and got hot. Amps need a speaker load. Try it again with a speaker cabinet rated for at least 50 watts. Hopefully the worst case is you may need some new power tubes a fuse.

Congrats on your Solo 50 - I have one too.
Last edited by 311ZOSOVHJH at Apr 11, 2016,
Quote by ModestSlaughter

What?

Also, use a speaker cable to the cab in the future.