Currently I have a Ibanez GS121 and a Fender Mustang I V2 w/ a Maxon OD808X pedal.

Before you laugh at the pedal costing more than the amp hear my plead for guidance.

I was wondering if at my current state it would be better to upgrade the guitar itself or go straight for the amp upgrade

(The amp I was looking at for a upgrade is the Orange Micro Dark Terror)
Amp.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Amp...but I'm not so sure the Micro Terror is much of an upgrade over the Mustang amp. Neither is anything special as far as tone and the Mustang amp has all the bells and whistles. I'd take an Epi Valve Jr over either any day of the week, and you could get one used for less than the others cost new.

Even then though, if it were me I'd just assume stick with the Mustang amp and keep saving, unless you have more money. You wanna upgrade, not fall in the trap that many of us have of confusing "new" gear with "better" gear. If you've got $300-$500 to spend and go used there are lotsa gems out there that sound great. But I don't think the Micro Terror was meant to be an upgrade over anything.
Fender Mustang/Derfenstein DST> Boss Power Wah> Pedal Monsters Klone> Bogner Uberschall> Walrus Audio Janus> Randall RM20> Line 6 M9> Randall RM20
The Micro Terror is just a little practice amp for your bedroom because your girlfriend thinks that having a 1/2 stack in the bedroom is ludicrous.

Lots of nice amps ~$300, and you already have a great overdrive too!
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
How does your guitar feel in your hands? If you don't feel that you need something that plays better go amp. If you feel like your guitar is holding up progress get a guitar.

I
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"