Yesterday I played at an older chapel building and noticed a few electrical pops every now and again. It happened maybe every few minutes. Sounded kind of like a charge buildup on a pedal switch. I was not exactly sure what was causing it but I guessed and hoped it was just shoddy power. I had my guitar, amp, and pedalboard (and the respective cabling). I tried two different guitar to board cables and nothing changed. The lighting in the chapel I think is also hooked up to the audio power so that is an issue as well.

I tried just the guitar and amp today and did not notice such a popping. So it may be either something with my pedalboard or it was just bad power from the wall. Does such a description of the electrical pops sound like bad power? I imagine that if the amp/board was receiving just a bit too much power, it would hold it in for a bit then release it. Maybe the ground was weak? I have little electronics experience so I am not sure.

With that in mind, should I get a power conditioner? My last thread on them was asking about their noise reduction. I know now that is not the main point of PC's, but rather to give proper power parameters to my equipment instead of dealing with slight variances from different venues. If I do get one, it would be nice to be able to have 2 outs with enough power to power my amp and pedals from the same wall port.

Or should I look elsehow?
Last edited by Will Lane at Apr 13, 2016,
Yes, get a power conditioner. Some older buildings could have such a shoddy electricity that it might fry your amp in the middle of a gig. I've seen it happen.
I use a Juice Goose, but anything from a reputable brand should be fine.