I've been playing electric guitar for about 12 years and it seems the better I get the worse I feel about my playing. I start to notice things I didn't notice before. I also just went to the dark side and purchased my first tube amp and...maybe it's just me but it seems to illuminate my flaws. In the last few months I've come to realize that the main thing that separates average guitarists from great ones is the ability to play clean and reduce string noise. I've been practicing some muting techniques with both hands but it's definitely not coming easy. Any tips to play more cleanly?
I know what you mean. That's pretty common the more advanced you get.

Troy Grady has a sight called Cracking the Code which completely dissects the technique of great players. You can sign up at his site or you can check out his YouTube Channel. a quick Google search should get you there. He's got a lot of stuff up there for free and it's expertly done and entertaining as well. Pay particular attention to videos about pick slanting and string hopping. Very enlightening stuff.

Good luck!
"it seems the better I get the worse I feel about my playing."

I feel your pain man, I really do... I try to slow stuff way down and mute as much as possible, but it doesn't always go to plan. I also tie a sock or something around the nut if I'm recording and try to find the 'just right' level on a noise gate. I've heard a lot of people bang on about those jimmy clip things but I've not tried one yet...
economy of motion not only makes playing fast easier, it also reduces the chance of making unintended string noise. not making the noises in the first place is better than muting them.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!