Hi,

So I've been playing for just 3 months. Granted, I have spent tons of time playing. Or trying too.

I've literally just recovered from Tennis elbow (from actually playing tennis) on my right arm, but now I have it but much worse on my left (fretting arm). I cant even bend it. Its obviously from the guitar. I always make sure I'm sitting correctly and take breaks, but I must be doing something wrong. I woke up this morning in serious pain

Can anyone help please. I'll lay off the guitar for a few days, but I'd hate to be out for months as I was making great progress.
Back from about 1981 to 1991 I was playing bass/guitar/keyboards/drums about 4 hrs every night after working as a software engineer and typing code all day. After about 10 years I blew my forearms out with tendonitis and right elbow with ulnar neuropathy.

Physical therapy...no help. Weeks rest without typing/playing...no help. Anti-inflammatory drugs...no help. Finally, elbow surgery (cubital tunnel release)...no help. What did help?

For the tendonitis...ice, ice, ice! I had to be super disciplined and every time I would be doing something that hurt (playing music, typing, yardwork, whatever) I had to stop, grab a couple ice cubes and rub them on whatever hurt until they melted. Rest for a few minutes, then resume what I was doing. If it began hurting again, I had to stop and wrap up with ice packs and chill out (literally) for a couple hours. For a couple years after the initial injury, I had to go to sleep wrapped in ice packs so I could wake up without pain and hopefully make it through 8 hours of work as a programmer...if I had enough gas in the tank after work to play music it was a bonus.