I'll start off by saying I'm a hobbyist/recreational guitar player and to give you a sense of use, I can go weeks to months between playing and then play every other night for weeks or months.
I've owned my Valveking for almost 10 years and its been a great amp. I did have some issues about 5 years ago and ended up having to replace the pre-amp tubes. I started having problems again about 18 months ago. The amp started to pop and crackle. After some research I came to the conclusion the power tubes were going. I replaced them with a quad matched set of TAD 6L6GC-STR's, purchased from TheTubeStore.com. They sounded great! 2 to 3 months later, while playing, the amp just popped and shut off. I found the fuse blown. I replaced it and played for about 5 minutes more and the same thing happened. I did some Googling, but didn't come up with a solid solution. I'm mechanically savvy but never having worked on a tube amp before and for fear if the unknowns, I threw in the towel and dropped my amp off at the local amp shop. While there, the amp Dr. called me and said my new tubes were bad and needed to be replaced. He said the BIAS in the amp was off and that's what caused to tube(s) to go. I didn't believe him at first but, after he explained, in good detail, the logic behind the BIAS and how it needs to match the voltage from the tubes, and a quick Googling, I felt comfortable and gave the green light to fix. He replaced the 4 TAD tubes with 4 Tung-Sol 6L6GC-STR's and biased the amp for the tubes. $200 later when I got the amp back, everything worked better than expected, I was happy!