I am at the point where my musical creativity is being greatly handicapped by my lack of musical knowledge. I have no knowledge of music theory and I just feel as if my creative potential has been sapped up at this point.

I've written dozens of short pieces that I absolutely love but I've hit a roadblock where I just can't comprehend where to take all of those pieces and complete them into full songs. I feel like what I've created is my songwriting at it's maximum potential and I can't go any further to complete my songs. I feel like I've peaked and I'm wondering if music theory will help me expand my skills further.

I'm not good with song structure, knowing what notes go together, how to transition, how to transcribe music from my mind to my instrument, etc.

Would music theory be the key to help me out of this place I'm in? If so where should I start? Should I just learn anything and everything related to music theory?
Last edited by DudE132 at Apr 20, 2016,
Hey, welcome to S&L.

I think this might be better placed in the Musician Talk forum, but I'll do my best to answer.

Music theory can always help, but it's not the only way to expand your songwriting or creativity - there are plenty of incredible guitarists out there who only had rudimentary/self-taught knowledge of theory. Having said that, the vast majority have a decent to good understanding and it certainly helps.

In terms of where to start, have you ever taken lessons? I personally find it easier to learn from someone else, or at least get pointed in the right direction on a subject as big as this.
|
'....even the President of the United States sometimes must have to stand naked...."

Do me a favour, pop into Songwriting & Lyrics and add a comment to one thread, any thread, but contribute.

----

www.soundcloud.com/christobaldo