Hey everyone,

Recently I have been thinking about upgrading my gear. I have been playing electric guitar for about 5 years, and acoustic for a long time before that, so I consider myself to be quite a good player. I have really rubbish gear at the moment, because I'm a student and couldn't really afford anything till now.

My plan was to buy a 2016 Gibson Les Paul Standard HP, along with a Marshal DLS40C, as well a a bunch of pedals.

My question is should I be spending around £2500 on a guitar and getting a £500 - £600 amp? What do you guys think?
If it was me I would considering buying a same price range both guitar and amp.
Why don't you look at a Fender or some thing?
But here's the point. We all want to know what are you really looking for (specs, etc.)
and Do you gigs or not? If you gigs you're gonna need something different then bedroom playing these question could save you some money.
The DSL40C is a solid amp.

However, it might not be the best vehicle for what you're trying to play, and - again, depending on what you're aiming for in sound - there may be better bang for your buck alternatives to the LP.
Quote by Diemon Dave
Don't go ninjerin nobody don't need ninjerin'
Don't be swayed by the "new guitar smell"...You could save 100's of $$$ and end up with a better instrument if you take your time, do some research, and comb the used market for a earlier (and arguably better) Gibson LP (or similar). As far as amps go, that's a personal judgement call based on want/need. Combo, head/cab, 1 X 12, 2 X 12, modeling, 20W or 100 W, Eminence or Celestion, many choices there. IMO that's where the tone is TRULY made and IMO it should be your #1 priority. Valves (aka tubes) bring out the best tone you could possibly hope for. I'm not saying SS equipment 100% sucks, but valve amplification brings out a buttery warm full tone that an SS amp just can't find. Sprinkle in effects as needed, find your happy place and go from there instrument wise.
Thanks for the replies.