Im studying a song and this progression happens: Bmin (B,D,F#), Dmaj (D,F#,A), C#dim (C#,E,G), F#min (F#,A,C#), C#dim(C#,E,G), Dmaj(D,F#,A)

I know that between the B minor and D major is an upward third. I can't seem to figure out the rest of the progression. Help?
What is the song you are talking about? What do you want to know about the progression? All of those chords are diatonic to D major.

Do you know about chord functions (I mean, the Roman numerals)?
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
Quote by MaggaraMarine
What is the song you are talking about? What do you want to know about the progression? All of those chords are diatonic to D major.

Do you know about chord functions (I mean, the Roman numerals)?

I want to know how the chords are moving to each other. Chords can move in thirds, fourths, and in seconds. I know that at the start of the progression the Bmin to Dmaj moves in a third. I'm not sure how the other chords move to one another.
Quote by J23L
Im studying a song and this progression happens: Bmin (B,D,F#), Dmaj (D,F#,A), C#dim (C#,E,G), F#min (F#,A,C#), C#dim(C#,E,G), Dmaj(D,F#,A)

I know that between the B minor and D major is an upward third. I can't seem to figure out the rest of the progression. Help?

Its a vi I viio iii viio I - if it's in D

B to D is a minor 3rd away

D to C# is a maj 7 up or a min 2nd down

C# to F# is a Perfect 4th

F# to C# is a Perfect 5th

C# to a D is a min 2nd away

Best,

Sean
Last edited by Sean0913 at Apr 24, 2016,
Quote by J23L

I haven't seen the actual voicing but if we follow the principle that the voices move as little as possible to become a note in the next chord then...

[u]Bm    D     C#dim F#m   C#dim D[/u]
F#    F#    E     F#    E     F#
D     D     C#    C#    C#    D
B     A     G     A     G     A