Hello All,
So I was playing around on guitar today, and I just started wondering, what exactly is a good solo? What makes for it? Is it one thing you have to build up separately? Or is it combinations of overall knowledge and expertise? So I've thought about it and wanted to hear your opinions on the matter. I've been playing guitar for 9 years, and I know my way around the fretboard. I was primarily a blues player but I have branched out significantly over the past few years, and I learned to incorporate a lot of different styles into my playing. But the one thing I use the most when it comes to my soloing is the same thing I learned while playing the blues. Emotion.

I've narrowed it down to what I'd say is 4 "essentials" for making a good solo on a song. In no particular order, I think it's a combination of 1. Emotion-How expressive you can be on guitar through your playing, showmanship, etc. 2. Phrasing-taking the time to choose exactly what note to hit or sustain, how to structure your solo, matching the melody of the overall song. 3.Technique-Obviously, the longer you've been playing and the more you've learned, the more you'll have in your"bag of tricks" to choose from. and 4. Tone-The perfect eq balance, effect, and guitar/amp combo.

So, which do you think is the most important? What ones do you excel at, or need work on? Are there any other factors you think are needed for a good solo? Share your thoughts UG Community!
This is frighteningly accurate

"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY