Title says it all. :-) I've started playing with a couple of friends and we're doing a bossa nova song in addition to some jazzy songs. That particular song would sound great with a nylon string acoustic. But I don't have one, nor do I have the budget to buy one right now. Does anyone know of a pedal or VST instrument that could make my electric sound like that? I guess using the midi guitar 2 app on the iPhone? But I don't think there's a nylon string guitar among the instruments... any suggestions?
Well, I don't know of any individual pedals, but there are acoustic models on many modeling devices and amps, like the Korg Pandora series.

There are also electric guitars from Godin, Parker, Fret-King and others that include piezo pickups, so that you can get that acoustic sound.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by Tony Done
I've never tried one I like. Most of them sound awful, because all they do is EQ, they don't do anything for the great difference in attack and sustain that is inherent in a hollow body. I suppose that one of the more sophisticated guitar synths might do it OK.

agree. a nylon string would be even tougher so i kinda doubt it can be done as of yet. bottom line is that you would likely be disappointed.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I haven't checked yet, but I'd bet money a Variax can do it.

Where's dspellman? You spoke the sacred words!
Guitar/Bass:
Schecter: Damien 6/Stilletto Extreme 5, Squier: Bullet HSS*, Washburn RX10*/WG-587, Agile Septor 727
*mods

Amps/FX
Peavey: Vypyr 30/Max 112 (200W), ISP: Decimator

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Understood- I waste money on amps*, too.

justinguitar.com is the answer
You could probably find a cheap used nylon for cheaper than most half-decent alternatives. Otherwise, BIAS has an acoustic setting you could tweak. Not going to be the same as nylon though.