Interesting read, I was a "self-taught" guitarist on-and-off for over 10 years before taking private lessons almost a year ago. Since finding my teacher I've been learning and practicing almost nothing but theory. I can play a handful of songs and plenty of riffs but I do kind of feel like I've hit a wall. So really I channel my focus into creating my own material. Although I should try to learn all the songs that I grew up with and inspired me. It would be good for my chops and well as my theory, so I can learn how to break down the songs.
Last edited by anthonymarisc at May 4, 2016,
What does "playing guitar" mean, if you're not actually playing music? What other "goal" could you sensibly have?
I guess some people will buy a car and just sit in it in the garage, turning it on and off, fiddling with the controls.... "drive anywhere? nah, why would I want to do that?"

The article is setting up a false distinction (obviously because he is a teacher with lessons to sell). When you learn to play songs, you are automatically learning techniques - you have to, or you couldn't play the songs! The more you play them (and the more songs you learn) the better you get.

You are also learning theory, in the sense that you learn which chords go together, and how keys work. Naturally you can ignore all that stuff if you want (like you can drive without knowing how the engine works), but who cares? If theory doesn't interest you, why should it? Sooner or later there may come a point where you're curious, but there's no harm in waiting till then. You certainly don't need it to write songs, because you can do that by copying stuff you like in the songs you learn.
Quote by jongtr
What does "playing guitar" mean, if you're not actually playing music? What other "goal" could you sensibly have?
I guess some people will buy a car and just sit in it in the garage, turning it on and off, fiddling with the controls.... "drive anywhere? nah, why would I want to do that?"