I'm thinking of writing an instrumental at some point. This could be soon or in the future. I do have an idea of how I want it to kind of sound, the ways I would like it to sound would be how the first guitar solo or intro solo from metallica's one. That's kind of the speed I want it to be at etc. I also have an idea of what scale I want to use. I am thinking of either the minor pentatonic scale or maybe the Harmonic minor scale, both of which I know fluently. But does anyone have any tips for writing an instrumental as I am a total beginner for writing instrumentals I have written songs and solo's but no instrumentals as of yet.
Take this for what you will, because I'm not speaking from an authority. When I think of instrumentals, be it guitars or orchestral, they do have their parts. Now, I don't know how detailed you want to go, having a basic format of Verse,Chorus,Verse,Chorus and building from that is my vote for where to start. Now, the fun part is getting the verse/chorus parts created.
Guitar/Bass:
Schecter: Damien 6/Stilletto Extreme 5, Squier: Bullet HSS*, Washburn RX10*/WG-587, Agile Septor 727
*mods

Amps/FX
Peavey: Vypyr 30/Max 112 (200W), ISP: Decimator

Quote by dannyalcatraz
Understood- I waste money on amps*, too.

justinguitar.com is the answer
Quote by bjgrifter
Take this for what you will, because I'm not speaking from an authority. When I think of instrumentals, be it guitars or orchestral, they do have their parts. Now, I don't know how detailed you want to go, having a basic format of Verse,Chorus,Verse,Chorus and building from that is my vote for where to start. Now, the fun part is getting the verse/chorus parts created.

I agree here. Still needs to have the parts, otherwise it will not feel solid nor complete. It'll feel like a pandering track struggling to find its path.

The "chorus" should be a very catchy melody/riff. And each time it's repeated, altered a bit so it doesn't sound like a song that someone forgot to record vocals for.