This is my first post here.

After reading and watching lots about the EHX Germanium OD pedal I decided I would buy one. So I got it today and at first I was a little worried that I had wasted my money, I could get lots of nice clean tones but I had difficulty getting any of the dirty tones I had heard in the demos. After messing around with it for a while I did find some dirt and I like it!

I am new to using pedals and honestly I'm not exactly sure of the "proper" way to use an overdrive pedal. Currently I have a Big Muff Pi (The big case one) and a Dunlop Wah pedal. I found that the Big Muff going into the Germanium OD Creates some pretty wild distortion, and I like it.

My first question is, is a Big Muff into a Germanium OD a conventional thing to do?

Secondly, Am I connecting everything in order? - AMP> Big Muff> Germanium> Wah> Guitar.

Third and last, How do I eliminate the buzzing noise? If I have my guitar straight into the amp on either channel there is almost no buzz or unwanted sound. If I turn a pedal on (especially Germanium OD) the buzz is almost unbearable.

Hopefully someone can understand what I've written and can help me.

Thanks.
Quote by chestersumlin
I am new to using pedals and honestly I'm not exactly sure of the "proper" way to use an overdrive pedal.

Depends what you're trying to achieve, but lots of people like to use them to boost the signal into another pedal.

Quote by chestersumlin
Currently I have a Big Muff Pi (The big case one) and a Dunlop Wah pedal. I found that the Big Muff going into the Germanium OD Creates some pretty wild distortion, and I like it.

So far so good.

Quote by chestersumlin
My first question is, is a Big Muff into a Germanium OD a conventional thing to do?

Does it matter? I don't think the Germanium OD is a very conventional overdrive

Quote by chestersumlin
Secondly, Am I connecting everything in order? - AMP> Big Muff> Germanium> Wah> Guitar.