Hey guys, wow, firstly... I joined here when I was 14 years old and haven't visited the site since I was 16, I'm now 23... oh how things have changed since haha!

Anyway, not sure if I'm using the correct terminology on anything but...

I'm in the midst of creating my first fully custom guitar (exciting stuff!) and just wondered if its possible to swap a Duncan HB thats being used with coil tapping on a 5-way blade for a DiMarzio 70's Super Distortion???

DiMarzio pup just has a braided cable and inside one black wire and one white wire. The Duncan has 4 wires obviously (red, white, green and black).

Really just wondering if its possible to do this kind of swap? What impact would it have? Would it have a 'dead' position on the pup selector; as in will there be a selection where neither pickups are selected? Would I need to swap the 5-Blade switch to a 3?

I'm relatively new to wiring but any help would be appreciated! Oh, and hello all once again!
Last edited by Muzzer10 at May 14, 2016,
Quote by Muzzer10
Hey guys, wow, firstly... I joined here when I was 14 years old and haven't visited the site since I was 16, I'm now 23... oh how things have changed since haha!

Much less cleavage.

Quote by Muzzer10

I'm in the midst of creating my first fully custom guitar (exciting stuff!) and just wondered if its possible to swap a Duncan HB thats being used with coil tapping on a 5-way blade for a DiMarzio 70's Super Distortion???

DiMarzio pup just has a braided cable and inside one black wire and one white wire. The Duncan has 4 wires obviously (red, white, green and black).

Really just wondering if its possible to do this kind of swap? What impact would it have? Would it have a 'dead' position on the pup selector; as in will there be a selection where neither pickups are selected? Would I need to swap the 5-Blade switch to a 3?

Are you modifying an existing guitar or actually creating a fully custom guitar?