Forgive my ignorance, I am a noob (working on my bucketlist), that has been learning to play on an acoustic for about six months. I recently got a used Squier Std. Strat with stock pups I assume, but I am looking for some decent practice combo amp suggestions, or better yet, any I should run the other way from. I live in rural upper Mid-west so mail-order and retail are options. I just want to play reggae, ska, ska-punk, and some alternative rock. I would appreciate ANY help. Due to financial limitations (MY WIFE) I can only spend about $50-75. Its just going to be a hobby for now.
Last edited by pthreet at May 15, 2016,
At that price, your best bet is to find some kind of used portable digital modeling device, such as a Line6 POD, Korg Pandora, Boss Micro BR, or the like. There are also some app/devices that work with mobile devices like smartphones and tablets.

Regardless of type, you'll have to use some headphones. Don't use earbuds.

Check eBay, Reverb.com, and if you're game, sites like Craigslist.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at May 15, 2016,
Thanks Dannyalcatraz, also is there any brand of used amp I should run from?
Well, cheap amps are always risky. Pignose has a long standing rep as a decent low-cost amp though.

But things like small Marshalls, Oranges, Line 6 etc. in that kind of price range? You're paying for the name, not quality. I have a tiny Barry powered Orange that is about the size of a stack of CDs. I use that for goofing around making funny voices with friends on game night, not making music.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”