Hi there! I am going to explain a bit my situation. I have been playing for 3 years now guitar, with more than one year of taught electric-guitar lessons. I know about scales (pentatonic, natural minor, blues...), power chords, and more important, I've been improvising all the time and trying to focus on that.

I have started to feel that I want to join people to play with, it could be even a band. However, I am a bit afraid of the moment that I might think I am prepared enough to play with other people, and once I am there, maybe it doesn't work. How do I really know if I am totally prepared to play in a band or something similar¿ Can you give any tips about it?

Many thanks!!
Find some other musicians close to your skill level to play with and give it a shot, sometimes jumping in is the only way to get yourself ready for playing with others, in fact the other musicians can often help you to adjust.

If you try and it doesn't work out to get discouraged just keep playing and looking for others to play with. Not all musicians are comparable and will be able to work with one another.
"A well-wound coil is a well-wound coil regardless if it's wound with professional equipment, or if somebody's great-grandmother winds it to an old French recipe with Napoleon's modified coffee grinder and chops off the wire after a mile with an antique guillotine!"
- Bill Lawrence

Come and be with me
Live my twisted dream
Pro devoted pledge
Time for primal concrete sledge

Last edited by Evilnine at May 16, 2016,
There are a lot of douchebags out there when you are just meeting strangers trying to join or start a band.
Don't let them shake your confidence.

There are few things in the world worse than a failed musician.
Or a low level musicIan that thinks they should be bigger.
Last edited by EyeNon15 at May 16, 2016,
Quote by me in another thread last week
you'll never be good enough to be in a band until you've been in a band.