I have been playing acoustic guitar for 4 years self taught, i am pretty advanced with fingerpicking and all that good stuff. I have taught myself electric guitar solos off youtube and I am curious on how you know what pedals and effects to use to achieve the sound you are wanting. I am also wanting to buy a new amp, what is your pick? Currently I just learned the solo to time by pink floyd but i don't know how to achieve the correct tone. Some comments on youtube say to use delay but all these effects are foreign to me.
Well, you can figure that out by experimenting or reading abitat pedals. I do both.

This has some of the basics sketched out:
http://www.sweetwater.com/insync/guitar-pedal-buying-guide/
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I always believe the best way to learn about this sort of thing is to buy a multi effects unit and experiment. Personally I'd recommend a Zoom G3 - great sounding, easy to use and loads of extra features.

With a unit like that, you can use it for headphone practice and experiment with different effects in different orders, use different amp sims (which can also help influence your choice of kit when you upgrade your amp) and generally use it to increase your knowledge of how effects work. You can even position the effects before or after the amp, to simulate use of an effects loop etc.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
I did something likewise, except I used portable digital modelers. I have Korg Pandoras and a Tascam GT-R1*, but the Line 6 PODs are the most popular, and the Boss Micro BRs may be the most powerful.