Hello there fellas.
I've been playing guitar for quite a while, mostly metalcore and deathcore stuff.
My gear looks like this: LTD EC-1000 with EMG 81/60 pickups -> Zoom G3 -> Cubase -> PC speakers.

I've got around 300 bucks to spend and I'd like to upgrade my gear in order to receive a better high-gain sound because Zoom's distortion is pitiful. I could also sell my Zoom for extra ~100 bucks which makes it around 400 bucks in total.
However, I don't have an idea what to go for first (because honestly I'm not that good at setting things up). The guitar itself is a masterpiece, it's a great instrument made for heavy music so getting rid of it would not be a good idea.

I dunno if buying an amp would be better than upgrading my processor, would like to hear you guys out.

This guy's sound is just what I'm looking for
https://youtu.be/jJ4pUxol1A4
A decent amp would probably be your best bet, with the caveat that if you sell your G3 you will lose some of the flexibility you now experience. I'm not an expert in your preferred genre so I'll leave the amp suggestions to others, but I know that's where I'd be looking.
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin
So, the question here is what you really want to do with your playing: Do you want to play out, do you jam with friends a lot, do you only play at home/recording...

If you want a direct but higher quality replacement for the Zoom, I'd recommend a used POD HD desktop. They sound great, especially for your genre of music.

If you want an amp, there are some more options, most of them will need to be used to get a good sound though.

I agree with you, the guitar is pretty sweet, no need to change that.
I'm just a kickin' and a gougin' in the mud and the blood and the beer.
Quote by dementiacaptain
So, the question here is what you really want to do with your playing: Do you want to play out, do you jam with friends a lot, do you only play at home/recording...