Hey guys!
I bought my first electric guitar 3 weeks ago.
When I bought it, it was tuned to Dropped C and thus I tried to learn Animal I have Become by Three Days Grace and Monster by Skillet. I got some very noticable buzzy sounds while playing and thought that they appeared because I'm not experienced but as it turned out, my guitar strings and settings are optimised for Standard-Tuning.. Which kinda sucks, because almost every song I like is in dropped d , d#, c or b.

However,
1) Is there any way to "convert" songs from an alternative tuning to standard tuning?
2) Do I get a lot of loss in quality if I play dropped d with standard strings and guitar settings? After All, I only have to change the tuning of the E-String.
I didn't quite like the sound when I changed to dropped d, but that may be due to my amp's settings. Most of the standard-tuning songs that I played were clean, so there wasn't a lot i could do wrong.
3) Which songs do you like to play in standard-tuning?
At the moment I mostly listen to Slipknot, Dope, Three Days Grace, Rise Against, Skillet, Saint Asonia, older linkin park songs and older sum 41 songs. But all of their tabs I found are in alternative tunings x.x
My gear: Ibanez RG421-WK and Fender Mustang I V2.
Last edited by juvion at May 22, 2016,
If you play a lot of down tuned songs and don't like occasionally tuning up, just use a capo.

Then again, you can use the same fingerings and just play everything in standard/drop D.

Standard-like tunings like D tuning or C# tuning are not alternate tunings. So you could use the same fingerings and just play those songs in standard. It doesn't sound exactly the same, but many times playing something a whole step higher doesn't really sound that much different.

You could do the same with drop C, drop C#, whatever. Just tune your guitar to drop D and play the songs with the same fingerings. It will sound higher but it's really not that much higher.