I've been playing for a few years, very on and off. Dust in the wind is one of the songs I'm playing, but the travis picking just never sounds right. I'm self taught so upon studying a few tutorials, I noticed I learned a few bad habits - I would use my index finger on the second base note, instead of letting the thumb play both base notes, like I'm supposed to - and also, I learned to plant my pinkie on the guitar for stability, which I learned is a bad habit (because of less flexibility in the hand).

I've worked on these bad habits, but since I was doing it for so long, it was almost like learning the song all over again. I'm able to play faster now and the rhythm sounds better, but something is still just not right.

I'm trying to focus solely on the picking pattern now when I practice, without playing any chords. But I notice that after a little while, when I increase the speed, it just sounds wrong. I notice that even though I stopped planting the pinkie on the guitar, I tend to point it slightly outwards while playing, which seems to make my hand less flexible and tire faster. When I notice and I tuck it in again, it seems to improve my rhythm. Could I be onto something here?

I've watched several videos on travis picking, and tutorials for Dust in the wind, but they never seem to pay attention to small details like these. So I wonder if anyone could help me out with some tips on how to make sure I get the picking right without developing more bad habits and slowing down my learning?
I'm a Travis picker, though I prefer to call it alternating bass, as mine is descended from John Hurt, not Merle Travis.

Three suggestions;

Use a sound editor to slow it dwon so you can hear exactly what is going on:

Think of it as a mixture of pinches (thumb and finger together) and alternates (fingers playing notes that alternate with the thumb.

Try and find some (decent!)tab that shows you what is going on.

FWIW, I don't try and do exact copies, just "ïn the style of".