As a gigging guitarist I confess I've never really found multi-fx at all convincing so I've always stuck to more traditional amps and effects but fairly recently I switched to a BluGuitar AMP1 that I now have sat on my pedalboard and while it's not quite as good as my old Orange TH30, it still offers some great valve tones and the compact nature of the set up is something I REALLY love. In the next few months I'll be moving to The Falklands to live so I guess that while there may be a few live shows at the school where I'll be teaching, most of my playing will now be in the home where I'd like to experiment with a bit of recording. My original idea was to keep my compact amp and effects for playing live and use a Presonus iTwo as an audio interface to record to my computer. However, recently I've been wondering about the possible wisdom of going the whole hog and buying a Pod HD500X to use for everything. This idea raises a few questions:

1) How do the amp models on the HD500X stand up to a real valve amp?
2) Can the HD500X be used for recording as I want?
3) What's the best way of getting a live sound from the HD500X - hooked up to a traditional guitar amp, connected to a power amp and then into a guitar cabinet or into a FRFR system like an active PA speaker or keyboard amp?
4) If the answer to the previous question is a PA speaker then what sort should I be looking at? I seem to vaguely recall in the past someone saying that active PA speakers with a 15" speaker was best or is it better with a 12" speaker like a traditional guitar cabinet?

Thanks
Gibson Les Paul Studio with Catswhiskers pickups
PRS SE 'Floyd' Custom 24 with Creamery pickups
Fender Standard Stratocaster with DiMarzio pickups
Takamine GN30
BluGuitar AMP1
I'm not convinced by the hd500, they just feel wrong. I intend to buy one of these next month though. It's got the same DSP as an AxeFX with software by Studio Devil.

http://atomicamps.com/amplifire-pedal/
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500