Hello,

Again with one my questions. I am sorry I cant contribute answering other's doubts but I dont have enough experience to help out.

I want to replace my SG samick SD Designed humbuckers with better pickups.

I would like one of them in the 57 Gibson style or burstbucker 1 or 2 (for an AC/DC sound) and the other one for getting clean tones (let's say for playing songs like Proud Marys or something like this).

I love the combo of this Telecaster but the Tele square body is not for me.

I also heard about switchable pickups with can be changed between single coil and humbucker sound, but dont know much about this.

What would you recommend? Has any of you made a similar change in one of your guitars?

Thanks in advance.
Well, there are a lot of options out there. What kind of budget ya got?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
More or less 200 euros (about $225).
Last edited by frangs at Jun 2, 2016,
So did you actually play that Tele, or do you just like how the pups look? Because honestly, getting an SG to sound like the bridge single coil on a Tele might be tricky.

But far as humbuckers for AC/DC type tones go, any low-output model is worth a look. I use a Duncan '59 in the bridge for this kind of stuff and have very little to complain about. The Alnico II Pro is also nice.
Same for the neck, though I find I prefer either a P-94 type pickup or a Dimarzio Humbucker from Hell for cleans here.

There's plenty of boutique pups out there, too, but 200€ for a pair might not be enough, even with European brands.

Out of interest, what amp are you running?
Quote by TheQuailman
So did you actually play that Tele, or do you just like how the pups look? Because honestly, getting an SG to sound like the bridge single coil on a Tele might be tricky.