So it's 1am and I'm just kinda fartin around with my guitar, and I saw a bottle of superglue next to me. I have no impulse control, so I dabbed a little bit on 3 of my fingers (thumb, index, middle) in the same spot I hit the strings with (I'm a flesh player). I noticed a difference IMMEDIATELY (after the glue dried, of course), the sound was much crisper, closer to the sound of fingernails. I'm just curious, is this a bad idea? I can't imagine it'd harm the instrument in any way, it may not be the best for my fingers and they're a Lil wonky on touchscreens now, but I don't mind.
Also, I've been playing for almost 10 years, and primarily fingerpicking for the last year, so it won't interfere with technique or callous building or anything. I just thought it was cool, and I wanted to share in case anyone else wanted to try!
I expect that thin CyA will bond with the dead cells on the surface of your fingertips, and peel them away when it either wears off, or gets pulled off. I don't know whether this will physically affect you enough to matter, but since callouses are dead skin, part of them will come off with the glue...

CyA has way less surface tension than water, hence penetrates very deeply into surfaces it is applied to. Obviously more so on very porous surfaces.

Think of it as a "chemical peel" for your fingertips.
Last edited by Captaincranky at Jun 3, 2016,
Thanks Crank Daddy, I did notice after a few songs there were a lot of flakes (I assume glue and skin) around where my pick guard would be, and the sound wasn't as crisp. It definitely wouldn't work live but it might be cool for recording purposes