I have a Jay Turser Strat that MAPs at $179 that I got solely because it was pretty. It sounds reasonable too, but the tone knobs have to be rolled down to 5 or 6. Bass has to be cranked elsehow to get a "good" tone. I kind of figured that it was just because I have a cheap strat, until...

I played on a friend's MIA Fender Strat and it was the same way. Roll down the tone knobs and it is usable. Now granted I was playing on the Fender through a Blues Jr., and the Jay Turser through an Orange Rocker 30, VOX AC30C2, and a Valveking.

Anyways, I am not really sure. As you can tell I have little experience with Strats so I am just curious if the "over-brightness" is applicable to every Strat-style or just the few I have played. Also, I am not a mellow-voiced player. My main amp is the AC30 on the Top Boost Channel.
Last edited by Will Lane at Jun 10, 2016,
It's entirely subject to personal taste, so no.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
This literally happens with none of my strats. Maybe you just aren't dialing them in right?
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
I roll my tone & volume knobs back to 5 or 6, and then set up my amp with that as a baseline.

I can see how plugging into my amp with knobs on 10 would produce an ice-pick bright tone - but it sounds like you're trying to compensate your amp settings by dialing back the guitar - when you can actually attack and balance your problem on 2 fronts.
Real knowledge is to know the extent of one's ignorance - Confucius
Quote by Will Lane