Hi there guys. I'm kind of new to recording, and a buddy of mine helped me understand the basics of using a DAW (Reaper) and my video software (Vegas Pro).

Things like basic trimming, the clap technique, how to arm and disarm tracks for recording, how to render and export....

But the thing is, I could really use some skype friends from here that have way more experience than me to help me learn some of this stuff...

For example, I want to know how to record covers of me playing songs I like that have more than one guitar at the same time. This means splitting two video portions side by side, with two or more audio tracks stacked, while all of these tracks synced perfectly in time.

^^^I barely got that all out and already im lost and dont know what the hell im talking about. A good example of what im talking about is a song like Be'Lakor's "Husks" which is a really nice acoustic instrumental that illustrates what I am trying to be able to achieve.

Or "The Blackest Skyline" By Sylosis.

I want to increase my knowledge and ability to record covers of me doing the songs that I like, seeing as right now all I can work with is doing sing along acoustic songs, because with two mics only recording one track of audio, it's a lot easier for me to sync that up with the only video track that I have. (The video track from my go pro that filmed me singing and playing...)

I am going to watch youtube tutorials of vegas pro and reaper, but like I said above, there are TONS of people on here that have way more experience than me in the area of study and I would really love to learn as much as i can from some of you guys if you wouldnt mind, ya know?

I feel like I could really benefit form having some thought provoking, interesting discussions with some of you guys that clearly have more experience under your belt than a noob like me.

Would also love to discuss mic placement, and things of that nature. Also, smaller things like how to do fade ins and fade outs, etc.