Hello guys,

I just got a Gibson Classic 57 pickup second hand. The seller told me it was put on the neck of his guitar, but I wanted to know if I could put this pickup on the bridge as well.

I have been reading something about this and it seems that they are interchangeable. ALso, on some online site I read the one they are selling says "for neck, bridge and middle positions". But I would like to be sure beacuase I dont have a "bridge" 57 pickup to compare with.

The pickup doesnt show any sign, like N or B.

The only number on a stick paper on the back of the pickup is 0626, besides a date an the usual "PATENT APPLIED FOR".

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance
They're the same pickup. The only other version Gibson makes is the 57 Classic Plus, which I would think would be labeled as such, but I have no experience with them.

Either way, enjoy your pickup! Probably my favorite Gibson pickup.
- Gibson Flying V 120 #1 (White)
- Gibson Flying V 120 #2 (Cherry)
- Gibson SG Standard ('61 style)
- Jackson DK2M

- ENGL Fireball 60

- Many pedals, plus other stuff
Thanks FlightofIcarus!

I can't wait to replace my SD Designed (which I must say sound good) with the Gibson 57.
At first I bought the Classic 57 thinking of putting it on the neck and then a TV Jones on the bridge (for clearer tones) but then I realised that, when I play crunch or distortion tones, I use the bridge pickup 99% of the time because it gives that vigorous sound I like.

Also I think the TV Jones on the neck - even being less bright because of the pickup location - will still give clear tones enought to play open chords with a good "acoustic" twang tone.
In an LP Traditional Model the 57 goes in the neck and the 57+ goes in the bridge. Technically you can put a 57 in the bridge as well. I wouldn't recommend a 57+ in the neck though, the higher output would either really muddy the tone or you'd be backing off on the PU height.