Hello guys,

so last week i bought a peavey 6505MH 20 watt amp head, i was going to buy it with a cab but due to some low income no speaker cab yet..

so far i've been playing it with headphones and it kicks ass, but i've noticed something.
sometimes when i play i accidently unplugg the headphones, and when this happens i can hear the sound i usualy hear from my headphones coming from the amp... with no speaker or what so ever.
is this normal? i only noticed this 2 days ago, also when its turned on and i slightly tilt the amp i hear a screaming noise but when i put it down normally its back to normal.

also this is my first tube amp so i'm a noob to this.
martin.ouwehand
You really should NOT be playing a head without a cab plugged in. It's a good way to fry the transformer of the amp. At least have a dummy load plugged in or wait to get a cabinet. The amp head has no speakers, so I have no idea what you're hearing after you unplug your headphones.

As for the screaming noise, it could be a faulty pre-amp tube.
My crap:

Guitars
Jackson RR3T Limited Edition with Seymour Duncan Blackouts (MIJ)
Jackson JS1-X Rhoads
Jackson PDXT with Seymour Duncan Black Winters
Dean Vendetta XM

Amps
Peavey 6505 MH
Carvin 1X12 Cab

Pedals
Boss TU-3 Tuner
Boss NS-2 Noise Gate
Boss DD-7 Delay
there's no dummy load in that amp.
you have been absolutely frying the output transformer.
that sound you hear with no headphones plugged in is the sound of your transformer screaming.
Jumping on dat gear sig train.
PRS Hollowbody II / BKP Warpigs
Strandberg OS6T / BKP Aftermath
Strandberg OS7 / Lace Poopsticks
Skervesen Raptor 7FF / BKP Warpigs
Skervesen Raptor 6 NTB / BKP Juggernauts
Hapas Sludge 7 FF / Hapas Leviathan
Anderson Baritom / Motorcity Nuke BKP Sinner Anderson H2+
Warmoth Baritone / BKP Piledriver
Ibanez Rg2120x / BKP Nailbomb

Blackstar ID:Core Beam
People, 6505MH (MICRO HEAD) does have a dummy load. There is a speaker defeat button right in the back. Hopefully TS has it engaged.