I've been playing on the same Ibanez s520ex for the past 9 years (well I guess 3 with the 6 year break I took). This guitar has been awesome, and it sounds so nice but one thing i've always noticed is that the notes barely ring out past the 12th fret on the higher strings. I always thought I just sucked at solos because I could never make the master of puppets solo sound clean, but yesterday I tried my buddies epiphone les paul custom and it was crazy; I felt like I could play so fast because it was so smooth all of the notes on the higher end of the fretboard rung out and I barely had to press down for them to sound good.

While I've been thinking about upgrading my vox valvetronix that ive also had for 9 years, I'm now considering getting a new guitar. An amp would make me sound better but a new guitar would allow me to play so many solos that I've never been able to play cleanly.

I'm really close to just dropping a few hundred on the same les paul custom my buddy has; its only like $600 and it plays how I want it to, but I want to to see what you guys have to say. I'm sure there's a better guitar I can get for my price range I just don't know which one. I really want to stress that the main and probably only reason I'm getting a new guitar is because of the issue mine has with playing notes past the 12th fret, so I want a guitar that doesn't have this issue.

I also would prefer this guitar to not have the floyd rose tremolo system, I hate that shit so much.
Last edited by ZachDro at Jun 29, 2016,
The Ibanez more than likely just needs a good set up, if you are not comfortable with or knowlegable enough to tweak the set up yourself try to find a reputable tech to take it to and express your concerns, having your guitar properly set up will make a world of difference. No reason that Ibanez can't be made to play well unless there is some extreme fretwear.